OSX shredded to bits my network iTunes music library

August 19, 2021

Image by MagnusK via Flickr

OK, I am not just mad… I am really really really MAD!  It is the 1st time I find myself hating Apple OS X.  Why? Simple, it partially destroyed my music library that I access over an smb share!

What happen?  I seriously can’t beleive that it actually happen in such a silly dumb way!  I mean, who the hell is the Apple engineer that coded this stupid behavior!  I am not sure what to blame yet… the finder, the trash feature, both?  Maybe it is the desktop “finder” feature… but one thing for sure it has to change.

I can’t beleive I am the 1st one running into this nasty bug.  Any way, here is how it happen.  Let me know if you think it is my fault or the OS because I can’t see how I could blame myself for getting to this point.

I was happily cleaning some files from my Leopard Desktop.  I click and drag to select some files that where sitting there.  By mistake I drag a tiny bit too much and select my music network share icon as well (without noticing).  I then click and drag those files I no longer needed in the trash can.  To my surprise I see that there are more than 2000 files that are being deleted.  I stare at the desktop and can’t find a folder in there… but then I saw it… the Music network share icon! Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! I quietly scream in my head because I can’t wake up my kids that are sleeping already!

Guess what, OS X is busy deleting my music collection!  I quickly click the “X” icon in the delete dialog but OS X take it’s sweet time cancelling the delete.  I think, OK, I can undelete from the trash can… I look in it and there are no traces of my music files.  OK, it probably was just inventorying what to delete… so I go look in the actual share and… argggggggggg… everything past “Ramstein” in gone! Nooooooooooooooooo!

OK, there must be a “.trash” folder in there! I open a terminal session and navigate to “/Volume/music”… I do an “ls -al | more”… no hidden trash folder! How stupid is that!

So I have lost a good 25% of my music collection thanks to a stupid bug in OS X.  Who the hell is the genious that figured out that dragging a network share icon in the trashcan from the Desktop should result in actually erasing the content of the said network share!  Can I please find out and get him sent on a plane to my house so he can sit in front of my Mac a go buy all the missing song from iTunes or re rip everything back from my CD? Please? No?

I am really not impressed. Who can I talk to at Apple to make sure this nasty one never happen again?

Apple now get a big - 1 in my rating!

And no, I don’t have a backup cause I just moved my music library to my new MS Windows Home Server with my music folder replicated to two separate physical HD… but what good is it when the files are asked to be deleted… it does not matter that I have it replicated to two disk if both copy are erased!

Guess what I am doing right now?  I am reconfiguring Windows Home Server to no longer replicate my music/photo/personal shares to two drives… Instead I will setup a separate physical HD on which I will do regular backup via WHS backup feature.  I won’t trust OS X delete function for quite a while!

Digg this story!

Related Posts

Comments

6 Responses to “OSX shredded to bits my network iTunes music library”

  1. Jefferson on August 19th, 2008 10:26 pm

    Get over it.

  2. admin on August 19th, 2008 10:30 pm

    Yeah… I will one day… but right now all I can think of is all the work I will need to do to fix this mess!

  3. OSX shredded to bits my network iTunes music library | autocarsinsurance on August 19th, 2008 10:59 pm

    [...] Original post by admin [...]

  4. Chris on August 20th, 2008 12:42 pm

    Hey man i dont actually think it is osx fault the thing is that when you delete something from a remote server it never uses the trash can because those files are not actually on the local system. However when you go to delete it does pop up and say you are about to delete these perminaly are you sure… and there is also an option that says do not ever display this warning again which if you are like me you probably have done.. But anyways I am sorry to hear about that man i have had it happen to me before and it sucks big time email me sometime i want to talk to you about something else anyways

    Thanks
    -Chris

  5. marinos35 on August 23rd, 2008 12:29 pm

    Look, if you don’t save anything on the hard disk that the files were deleted from, you may have a chance to recover everything. For windows (if I got it right the files were on a windows machine) there is a free tool that recovers deleted files that I can send you to use. Probably there is one and for mac if I got it wrong. Just search then.

    Anyway, the files weren’t deleted from the HD, but their space is free for use from other files. With this tool you can select to recover anything that hasn’t been overwritten by copping the recovered data to an other hard disk. Email me if you need my help.

  6. josh_wp2 on October 21st, 2008 2:52 pm

    This is a bug, it happened to us and a work experience guy moved the network share into the trash and then emptied it. We have backups but we were down for a couple of days while we recovered these and we still lost some work since the last backup.

    What should have happened is the network share should have been unmounted and OSX shouldn’t have gone through and deleted every file recursively.

Got something to say?

You must be logged in to post a comment.